Background Check Procedures
Background checks are valid for a period of three years. If you have had a background check done through the Educator License office within the past three years, you do not need to complete another one. If you don’t complete your program within the three years, you will have to complete another background check. Cleared background checks are required for licensure. The State Office will not accept copies of background checks done elsewhere, including school districts. You will be notified by email when your background application is complete by the Utah State Office of Education (USOE). Please attach that email to your Teacher Education Application. Only on-line background check applications will be accepted by the Utah State Office of Education. (Cards are no longer accepted.) Questions? Please call Lisa Christensen at 435-797-1443 or email at firstname.lastname@example.org.
It is your responsibility to inform the Department of Special Education if you have been arrested or convicted of violating any law except minor traffic violations while you are a student in the program. Failure to disclose this information may affect your current status in the Special Education Teacher Program.
Go to www.utah.gov/teachers and click on the Background Check button. Click on ‘Initial License’. Follow the online instructions. (Click on Initial Licensure)
Once you have completed the online application and paid your fee, you will receive an email acknowledging the fee has been paid. You will receive a second email that will have a pdf attached which is the authorization form. Print this form and take it to a live scan fingerprinting site (see attached pages). You will not be able to have your fingers scanned unless you have this form.
Your background check is not complete until you’ve had your fingers scanned. USOE has a 60 day time limit on your background check request. If you do not have your fingers scanned within 60 days, you will have to repay the fee to USOE.
***If your background will be expiring near the time you will be recommended for licensure, you can start the renewal process 30 days before it expires. Contact Lisa Christensen at 435-797-1443 for more information.